Parecon and Degrowth

Just dropping this here to see if anyone has anything to say about Parecon and the growing degrowth movement. How can they inform each other, aid, help, relate etc.? Can there be a relationship? Stuff like that. Anything really. Is it partly an aesthetic issue that something like degrowth attracts attention and Parecon doesn’t. Just asking. Anyone?

2 Likes

Do the degrowth people propose some kind of new economic system?

I’m not an expert, but my impression is they want people to develop a lifestyle where we produce and consume less, but they don’t necessarily advocate for a new economic system. It’s more about a change of values.

Is that a fair impression? Lol.

Hi Michael,

Yeah, spose. In a nutshell. Not sure why I posted about it really. It’s just it’s a growing movement. It has appeal. Michael Albert has written recently about it. Things like Solarpunk, simplicity, degrowth, eco-villages, indigenous movements, Rojava, Zapatistas, seem to resonate with people in ways that things like Parecon don’t. Romantic, idealist, practical doings that can be done now etc…I agree that degrowth is low on economic institutional structure, from what I can see, but it’s quite explicit about what needs doing (decoupling is not possible) and there seems to be a split, gap or a chasm between things more explicitly economic, like Parecon, a very radical proposal, that I think could aid degrowthers and simplicity folk and even less radical, we gotta do something right now Green New Deal folk, like the bloody necessary idea Pollin and Chomsky are advocating.

I’m really not sure what I’m even thinking or want from my post here. I know Robin has debated and written about degrowth a lot. Goes back a ways too.